top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

Adventurous Days...

Updated: Jul 2, 2019

So the past few days has definitely been some of the most adventurous days I have had yet here in Guatemala. We started off the day bright and early yesterday, getting on the road headed to ground zero of the volcano eruption from last year. It was some of the most intense riding I think I have ever done, but boy was the two hour drive worth it. We went to a part of Guatemala that does not get much help because of how difficult it is to get to them. We got to feed over 200 families and to see how grateful they were was amazing. After a few families had gone through this older lady that walked with a cane came through and was struggling to hold her bag and walk, so me and Bailee had the opportunity to walk her to her house because it was "close"...it was not that close, but we enjoyed the walk. We were almost to her house and she started praying out loud thanking God for us and for the food, and boy we were balling. She was the sweetest lady and she was so grateful to us for walking her home and that helped me to 100% know that I am right where I need to be right now. Then today we went to build houses and then loaded up and headed to Antigua to shop and eat dinner. We decided to head to the cross before we went shopping and boy was that an adventure. Let's just say Google Maps does not work very well here in Guatemala. We followed the maps through these steep and windy roads and then we stalled out on a hill, so we all piled out and a few people helped push the vans the rest of the way up the hill and then we made it to the cross and it was the most beautiful view ever. Walking around the market was next, everyone bought lots of stuff and made lots of new memories. Being with these people this week has been great, but boy am I tired.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page