top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

Busy, but Restful Days

The past two days have been busy, but also very restful. Sunday we went to church and heard an awesome message. The thing that stood out to me most was the value that we put on things in our lives. We have been made brand new. We are not our past, we are not our mistakes, because Jesus paid the ultimate price and made each of us brand new. When we choose to value something else in our lives we then begin to diminish the value of the cross and the sacrifice that God made for us. If we are identified with Christ and he is the fullness of God, what more do we need. I think sometimes we take for granted all that God has given us, and we lose track of the importance that Christ should be in our lives. That message challenged me to take a step back and really look at what I valued most in my life and encouraged me to refocus, which we have to do sometimes. Then after church we got to chill out and rest, before we went out and bought stuff to make lunches for the kids yesterday. Sunday was a holiday so the kids got Monday out of school which meant the feeding center was closed. So we made over 100 sandwiches and packed bags for the kids. Then yesterday morning me, Soy and Gina loaded up and headed to pass them out. It was so cool to go out into the community and see where the kids live and see their families with them. We passed out all the lunches and then we fed the construction workers who are building the school. They have been working so hard this past month so we wanted to bless them with some food. They were so happy when we brought it and they started jumping down from everywhere to get the food. Yesterday morning was filled with feeding lots of people and just being a blessing to them all. Then yesterday evening we loaded up and headed to Antigua to eat some dinner. We ate at a BBQ place (which this southern girl liked...made me feel like I was back at home) and then we headed to the square to wait on the team to get there because we were going to feed the homeless. While we were waiting a ministry came out with guitars and started singing and praying for people right there in the square. It was a beautiful sight to see these people interacting with people in the square. After a little while the team showed up and we began to get things ready to feed the homeless, they also began with singing and praying for each person. Although I could not understand most of what was being said, these people were very receptive of what they were listening to. Then we began to pass out the food, which was my favorite part. Seeing the smiles on these peoples faces and seeing how grateful they were for this one plate of food was so heartwarming. Although they have nothing, they are still so grateful for what they've got and what is being given to them. The past couple of days have been busy at times, but also very restful. I am thankful for the time of rest, but I'm recharged and ready for whatever this week has for me.



20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page