top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

Comfort Zones

And I am back, I am sorry about the silence for the last couple of days, but days have gotten busier and wifi has gotten scarce, but I have a second to breathe, so here is an update. The past few days have been filled with English classes, lovin' on kids, and many other things that just pop up. I look forward to when the kids get here everyday, and I love the time that I get to spend with them. I also enjoy my time spent with the teachers here. I told y'all that they are sweet ladies that have a huge heart for these kids and also for feeding Jesus into them. They are all sweet ladies, and we have a blast before the kids get here, setting up and laughing at my Spanish. We laugh at each other, teach each other, and are learning a lot just by being together.


The weekend is my time to chill and rest, but sometimes I end up helping out with things around the mountain and it helps pass the time. Sunday was great, going to church and worshiping alongside other believers was just what I needed to get through the week. I will confess that Sunday I did get a little homesick, because I was not sitting at church next to my mom and dad, which isn't completely out of the norm for me, but usually that just means me being an hour and a half drive away from my parents, whereas now I am a three and a half hour plane ride away and a few hours of driving. I know there will be days when I will miss home a little more than the next, but also I know that there will be days where I am not home sick at all, but I know that God has a plan, and while I am here I will focus on His plan and then in the blink of an eye I will be on a plane headed back to the states.


It has taken some time to get the hang of things around here. Life is much different here than it is in the states, but I am almost completely in the swing of things, and I am learning my place and what I need to do everyday. Some things here are totally out of my comfort zone...well actually just being here is a big jump out of my comfort zone. So these past couple of days God has been reminding me that when HE calls you to take a leap and get out of your comfort zone, you've just got to do it. I might be the most terrifying thing you have ever done, but He will be there EVERY step of the way, all you have to do is ask. The days here are great, but I am not going to lie to you and say that I have not struggled, because I have. The language barrier at first was super intimidating for me and really made me feel like I wasn't helping here at all, but trust me I know now that just because you don't speak the language doesn't mean that the Lord isn't using you. I may not be able to carry on full conversations with these people, but I can tell that I am impacting their lives, and they are impacting mine. So I will finish this post off with, if God is calling you to do something, don't let your feelings of anxiousness, or worry get in the way. Go into whatever it is with God right there beside you and I promise you with every single moment He will be right there. Love you guys.

34 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page