top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

How should I be living in the world?

Well this week has been busy from hanging out with the team to being with the kids everyday, but it has been a blast. I have had the privilege to be a part of the devotion times in the mornings and it has been great. The other morning we discussed how we as Christians should be living in the world. The first point that was made was one that I think a lot of people including myself needs to hear. "You can't feed others if you yourself are spiritually starving". I think sometimes we get so focused on what we can do for others, which isn't a bad thing, but we just forget to feed ourselves too, which is where it should all start. If we aren't feeding our hearts and preparing our hearts for what goes on then we can't effectively feed others around us. We need to have joy in everything we do. We should not look at what we do and do it because we are "obligated", but we should do it out of joy. No matter what you do, even if it causes you to have to give something up then it should be a joy for you. Whatever we do or whatever we give up for the kingdom of God it is always a good deal. Period. We are called to live in the world, not of the world. No matter what, this world is temporary, but the Kingdom of God is the greatest treasure we could ever receive. God hasn't only saved us through His grace, but He has called us to be a part of His kingdom. Looking at this from a mission perspective, it is easy to be excited to share, and excited to help people, but the real challenge is being at home around people you know. My challenge, for myself especially, is that when we are at home will we have the faith to look out for lost people and answer the calling to reach lost people. SO many times we get in that mission mindset when we are 1200 miles away from home but forget about it when where 1200 feet down the street. We can't forget about the people at home. This week has made me do a lot of sitting back and looking at the big picture and ask myself some hard questions. The weeks are going by and before I know it I will be back in the states and my prayer is that the mindset that I have down here will follow me home and people will be able to see God working through me.

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page