top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

New team equals busy days

Well, we are in the middle of another team being here, and it is a good one. There are a few familiar faces, and lots of new faces that have become friends over the past few days. The first night I met these people was over a game of Mexican Train. Needless to say what a way to meet people. I am quite competitive when it comes to anything especially games, and I do not like losing. This game has brought out the good, bad, and the ugly in all of us. Days are busy and we all get tired, and when it's 10:00 and we've still got five more rounds to go, people start getting delirious. Every night we have played even though most of us are holding our eyes open with one hand while playing with the other, but boy has it been a blast. Yesterday I had the privilege to go out with the team and build. Building is probably my favorite thing to do, but more specifically I love concrete duty. I know most people don't like it, but crazy me loves it, so I decided that I would volunteer to be on the concrete team. Well, little did I know that that meant I would be putting concrete in TEN houses in one day. You talk about hard work, that was some of the hardest work I have ever done. In the end we got all ten houses concreted (hmmm not sure if that's a real word, but it is today) and I felt quite accomplished at the end of the day. My concrete team was great and we all worked really well together and I enjoyed getting to know them a little more. Now my favorite part of the day was when we were waiting on the concrete to soak and I got to milk a cow. Yep, I got to milk a Guatemalan cow. I have never milked a cow before, but I would like to think I am pretty good, I enjoyed the experience and the Guatemalans surely did too. They all lined up to watch me milk a cow for the first time, and they surely got a kick out of it when the cow pooped right beside my feet. Needless to say that that is an experience that I definitely won't forget. Then today we started off our day at church and our message was on Ephesians 2:8 and the fact that it is by grace that we have been saved. Not by our actions, not by our words, not by buying salvation, but it is by Jesus Christ only, the one who paid the ultimate price for all of us and gives us the gift of salvation freely, and that's such an amazing reminder of how great our God is and how much He loves us when we don't deserve anything form him. So powerful. Then we loaded up and headed to Antigua to eat and shop. We spent time together and had a blast then loaded up and headed back to the mission house for dinner and another round of Mexican Train. It has been a busy past couple of days, but it makes the days go by and I'm enjoying every second of it.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page