top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

The Calm Before the Storm...

As I sit here in this calm moment, 45 minutes until the kids arrive, and one week until I get on a plane headed home, I hear the kitchen workers hard at work preparing lunch for the kids, and I'm watching two kids play with legos with the biggest smiles on their faces. All the emotions are starting to kick in. This place and these people have been in my normal routine for the past eight weeks and this place has become home. I am so grateful for this opportunity to be a blessing to these wonderful kids, but also I am grateful for the blessing that they have been in my life. Going home and not seeing these people that have become a part of my routine for eight weeks will be very difficult, but I will be quickly jumping back in to a completely different routine. As much as that excites me, and as much as I want the days to speed up, I wish they would slow down. It is a confusing feeling, but if you were to ask me what emotion I am currently feeling, my answer would be all of them. Happiness, excitement, sadness, anxiety, all of them. I know I have said this many times, but this summer has been one that I will never forget, and one that has definitely changed my life. A new team arrives today and I already know that we are about to be busy busy and my next break will be that three and a half hour plane ride back to Atlanta. Seven more days. That's it. I know these days will be busy, but boy will they be full of lots of smiles and giggles (and probably some tears too) but I know it's going to be great, I am ready for the storm.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page