top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

VBS Guatemala Edition

Updated: Jul 2, 2019

I think I fall more in love with this country everyday. The people, the places, the views. Wow, they are so breathtaking. I could take a million pictures but none of them would do it justice. This place has always held a special place in my heart, but with each passing day the love I have for this country grows more and more. I cannot believe today marked two weeks here. I know I've still got seven more weeks here, but I know that in the blink of an eye I will be writing my last post for this trip and hopping on a plane headed home, but until then I am excited to see what God has in store for me and this beautiful country. Today was a little different than the past few days because a new group arrived and are working a lot with the kids at the feeding center. Fist of all, I got to see a few familiar faces (in person) on this trip that I haven't seen in four years. We are always arriving in Guatemala as their team is leaving and we always wave at each other as we get off the plane, so actually being able to hug their necks and have a conversation was a treat for me today. But thee ladies got down to the feeding center this morning and we set up for the ladies conference that we had this morning. It turned out great and was a very relational thing for the ladies. We shared a devotion, got all pampered with nail polish, face wash, makeup, and sugar scrubs, then we shared some good food and fellow shipped with these ladies. These women are so strong and they do a lot for their families, so being able to treat them and bless them was a blessing to each of us. Then after the ladies left we got to do VBS with the kids. (now VBS here is nothing like VBS Thelma Baptist style) but we had a blast. They sang, did arts and crafts, listened to bible stories, and we even had a pinata for the kids. These kids were so excited today and we sent them home with lots of candy and cotton candy...sorry moms, but seeing them get so excited about things like this warms my heart. One thing about today that stood out to me was that after they gathered all of their candy and put it in their bags they would call me over and give me a handful of candy. They wanted to share their candy with me... I don't know about you but for me at that age I was not about to share candy with anyone, much less my teacher. It is not much, but just the fact that they wanted to share with me really shows that these kids have a good heart and are loving people and that to me is a big thing in a kid that age. Today was a busy day again, and it sure did wear me out, but I am ready to do it all over again.


28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page