top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRebekah Rankin

What's been going on?

The days are coming to an end very quickly, but my time so far has been absolutely amazing. The days have been busy, but each day has had its own special aspect of it. We’ve gone to the waterpark, celebrated the Fourth of July, celebrated birthdays, the whole nine yards, we’ve done it all. My time here is quickly coming to a close and I cannot believe how fast it has gone by. I have thoroughly enjoyed growing relationships with not only these kids, but also the teachers and other workers here. This place has always held a special place in my heart, but now it’s an even bigger piece of my heart, and I am so grateful for this opportunity. Throughout this journey I have had to stop myself a couple of times because I caught myself saying “I don’t really want to do this”, I quickly learned that sometimes what I wanted to do wasn’t what God wanted me to do. I learned that no matter what I get put doing, I should be doing it out of joy, not out of what is the most comfortable for me. I have also gained a better understanding of what it means to form relationships. It isn’t as easy to start a relationship with some as it is with others, but I now understand the importance of being intentional with people. Seven weeks have gone by and some relationships were easy at first, but others have taken seven weeks. These kids want someone to be intentional with them and just put in effort. Once I had the opportunity to gain their trust, whether it be by sitting there and listening to them read or playing with legos, the relationships have become rock solid now. In two weeks when I have to say my final goodbye, I know it is going to be hard. But it is so encouraging to know first hand that these kids are being loved on, taken care of, and most importantly they are being fed Jesus by some pretty amazing people. So far this summer has been a summer I will never forget and I can’t imagine spending it anywhere else.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflections

As I am back at home and almost all settled back in, I cannot help but sit back and reflect on this summer. It has been nothing short of phenomenal. It blows my mind that the same God who loves me all

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page